New Beer Resolution

Someone asked me yesterday if I had any new year’s resolutions for 2010. No, I replied – there’s nothing I want to give up, I’ve just been through a whirlwind of a year where I’ve got a new job, got married, gone on an overseas honeymoon, moved apartment, got promoted and travelled the length and longth of Australia for work and am pretty happy with my life in general. I’ve got a couple of things lined up around my musical sphere of interest to pursue this year so that’s enough for me.

But then I was trying to think of my favourite ten aussie craft beers for the Local Taphouse‘s Hottest 100 Aussie Craft Beers of 2009 Poll and, though I’d sampled many an aussie craft beer this year and liked some of them enough to put into a top ten, I found myself struggling to remember names. Wasn’t there a Saison from Victoria I liked? And the Holgate beer I had on hand pump…was it their ESB? Was the Moo Brew I had one rainy night in Hobart their Dark and was it any good, or was it the cool bottle that made me think it was? And what on earth had I been drinking at the Sail and Anchor in Fremantle?

As I was walking across the road to the bottlo this afternoon I thought of a way to make sure that I’m not in a similar position this time next year – I’m going to blog all the beer I drink this year. From the schooners of swill to the pretentious premiums, they’ll all be here.  Join me.

A note to those reading this on Facebook – I’m going to delink this blog from my account so that you don’t get inundated with daily posts. If you want to follow my adventures you’ll have to pop over to the blog on a regular basis or put it into your favourite RSS aggregator (like Google Reader, which I find very useful). Those of you who feel it necessary to use your Facebook status updates to tell everyone about the state off your offspring’s nappies might want to return the favour and spare me that information too. Quid pro quo and all that.

Leave a Reply

